preliminary Linux support

Questions about the BASICtools and MakeItC
basicchip
Posts: 758
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

preliminary Linux support

Postby basicchip » Sat Jun 11, 2016 9:15 pm

This is a first pass at support for BASICtools on Linux.

updated
Coridium.tar.gz
(554.93 KiB) Downloaded 216 times


unpack this into the $HOME directory, which means you end up with a Coridium directory there

There is an install script so run --

sudo ~/Coridium/installBASIC.sh

You may have to reboot as the echo says, because the groups are only updated on boot, and this changes the groups

It adds a BASICtools sh script to the /usr/local/bin
and adds a directory there, /usr/local/bin/Coridium with 2 Tcl scripts and 2 executables

In your home directory it will also create Coridium/temp directory where temporary files used during program pre-process and compile steps.

Examples and BASIClib directories will be created in $HOME/Coridium(good place to be able to change them)

A BASICtools.ini file will also be created in $HOME/Coridium when you exit BASICtools, it keeps the last settings.

olzeke51
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: South Carolina
Contact:

Re: preliminary Linux support

Postby olzeke51 » Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:22 am

Hi y'all -- I moved to So. Carolina - so I talk different :roll: ; got my computer setup and tried this 'prelim'. I know there isn't much demand for
Linux here on the forum - but here is my first run efforts/thoughts/and lastly - questions on the TclTerm.tcl script.
Using q4OS which is based on Ubuntu & Debian, using Tcl ver 8.6
'
olzeke51@q4compaq:~/Coridium$ cd ..
olzeke51@q4compaq:~$ ls
Coridium Desktop Documents test-abiword.rtf yotta-venv
olzeke51@q4compaq:~$ sudo ~/Coridium/installBASIC.sh
[sudo] password for olzeke51:
gpasswd: user 'bruce' does not exist
*** You will need to reboot to have the dialout change take effect***
cp: cannot stat ‘BASICtools.tcl’: No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat ‘TclTerm.tcl’: No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat ‘BASICtools’: No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat ‘bpp’: No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat ‘ARMbasic’: No such file or directory
olzeke51@q4compaq:~$
**********same thing if I do 'sudo ./Coridium/installBASIC.sh or [./ instead of ~/]
****EDITED** shell script and put my user name in place of 'bruce'
olzeke51@q4compaq:~$ sudo ~/Coridium/installBASIC.sh
Adding user olzeke51 to group dialout
*** You will need to reboot to have the dialout change take effect***

cp: cannot stat ‘BASICtools.tcl’: No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat ‘TclTerm.tcl’: No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat ‘BASICtools’: No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat ‘bpp’: No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat ‘ARMbasic’: No such file or directory
olzeke51@q4compaq:~$
**
****needed to be in the ~/Coridium directory to run the script TO ALLOW the files
****to be copied to the scripted /usr/bin/ locations
****(for noobs) using this command ' sudo ./installBASIC.sh ' [be in ~/Coridium directory]
********** rebooted and then ran ' BASICtools ' from a terminal window
********** errors:
olzeke51@q4compaq:~$ BASICtools
olzeke51@q4compaq:~$ application-specific initialization failed: unknown color name "BACKGROUND"
Error in startup script: can't invoke "winfo" command: application has been destroyed
while executing
"winfo exists $::topWdw"__/* THIS is about line 1322
(procedure "doRS232" line 4)
invoked from within
"doRS232 0 "
(file "TclTerm.tcl" line 1961)
invoked from within
"source TclTerm.tcl"
(file "BASICtools.tcl" line 1787)
^C
olzeke51@q4compaq:~$
**** line 1318 (in /usr/local/...TclTerm.tcl)which is " proc doRS232 { forMakeItC } {
**** grz-> seems to indicate it won't run for BASICtools ??? ONLY MakeItC
**** grz-> [BTW I got this same 'winfo' error when I ran your new MakeItc]
'
**** grz-> further investigation @ lines 159/160 would indicate Linux won't work
**** grz-> unless it's 'Darwin' (line 346 to 350) [I don't know tcl ] this appears to be the 'else' part
**** grz-> of an earlier 'if' check for a windows platform !!
------------------------------------
Anybody else tried this 'prelim' ?????
Olzeke51 - still a 'Westerner' yeeehaaw

basicchip
Posts: 758
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

Re: preliminary Linux support

Postby basicchip » Thu Jun 23, 2016 2:15 am

OK changed the bruce in the install script to $USER -- I thought I caught them all

and did a cd ~/Coridium in that sh script

as for the Tcl running here on mine, what version of wish is that? The error you are seeing is on the definition of a background color in tk
I developed this in version 8.4, and so far everything is the same in 8.5 and 8.6

basicchip
Posts: 758
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

Re: preliminary Linux support

Postby basicchip » Thu Jun 23, 2016 2:20 am

Looks like those options exist in all but the earliest versions of Tcl (so 7.6 and later should be OK)

As for MakeItC, I am not going there. So far no one has requested that.

basicchip
Posts: 758
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

Re: preliminary Linux support

Postby basicchip » Thu Jun 23, 2016 2:28 am

You will get more useful debug information by running wish from the command line

wish
cd /usr/local/bin/Coridium
source BASICtools.tcl

basicchip
Posts: 758
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

Re: preliminary Linux support

Postby basicchip » Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:14 pm

OK downloaded the live version of Q4OS onto a CD, booted from that

BUT wasn't watching when it booted, it started the Q4OS load, but ended up coming up in Ubuntu when I wasn't looking. So I did a full install of Q4OS on an old machine

Seems like Q4OS did not unpack the tar.gz file correctly. Have no idea what is up with that. I will manually copy the files over

OK copied most things by hand, had to chmod +x to BASICtools, installBASIC.sh bpp ARMbasic

I can launch BASICtools from the Konsole, and BASICtools window comes up fine, but no ttyusb devices found, still need an FTDI driver.

olzeke51
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: South Carolina
Contact:

Re: preliminary Linux support

Postby olzeke51 » Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:29 pm

Okay - thanks for trying the q4os - I've had a few other 'things' with it.
Will switch to pure Ubuntu - I want to be mainstream and not cause you a lot of 'finicky fixes"
Thanks Bruce

'
'
i did an ' lsusb ' command in console and came up with an FTDI device
[had a Basic Board' connected -- not the Cor-dongle

basicchip
Posts: 758
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

Re: preliminary Linux support

Postby basicchip » Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:37 pm

Don't jump ship to Ubuntu yet, Q4OS on this old machine is WAY faster than Ubuntu. The user interface is much like Win7 or XP can't remember which.

AND for me after rebooting (forgot to follow my own directions to add to the dialout group) it seems to be working.

Getting confused over root vs default adminq users, I've run into this before, but don't have time to chase it down right now, it is not executing the bpp

basicchip
Posts: 758
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

Re: preliminary Linux support

Postby basicchip » Fri Jun 24, 2016 6:13 pm

I do really like the speed of Q4OS, as Ubuntu was a dog on the machine I had even though it was fairly new and has 3G of memory.

I installed Wine, and then ran setupC.exe and setupBASIC.exe. And they install normally while they are Windows programs, but right now I don't see the ttyusb. Most likely I have to alias that somehow or change the serial detect code in the Tcl.

olzeke51
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: South Carolina
Contact:

Re: preliminary Linux support

Postby olzeke51 » Fri Jun 24, 2016 9:51 pm

There is a symlink that is needed to be created in the Wine 'devices' folder. I had to create one for the FTDI dongle as a 'ttyUSBx' IIRC, and then a 'ttyACM' [or something xxxACM' for the mbed-type of interface (mass storage or .....). Internet also suggested to start notepad.exe first - so that Wine will stay 'on' instead of timing out and aborting the I/O search - you know - starting Notepad++ might be a better choice - you almost always end up using it ;) -- yeah, using Wine is/seems the easiest to use.....but the challenge!!!
Olzeke51 - being retired I have a little more time - for the time being.


Return to “Software issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests